Diamonds are a Girl’s Best Friend

Photo by Aaron WillcoxDiamonds; sparkling, beautiful diamonds. I never spent much time thinking about diamonds before my own engagement, but now I’ve become a woman obsessed. One look at my engagement ring was all it took for the love affair to begin. I had never owned a beautiful diamond like that before, and once it was on my hand I couldn’t stop staring at it.

I loved moving my hand around in different lighting just to see the way the colorful prisms danced across the diamond. Candlelight is the best – the ring sparkles and pops like a firecracker on the Fourth of July – swoon!

After the wedding planning began and the dress was chosen, I naturally began to think about my wedding day accessories. I wanted them to pair beautifully with my ring and dress, and decided that a pretty pair of diamond earrings with a bit of dangle would be just the ticket. I didn’t want them to be overly flashy, I just wanted a nice little sparkle in a similar style to my ring – a bit vintage; an heirloom-style piece.

But after visiting a few stores I was reeling from sticker shock. Diamonds are e-x-p-e-n-s-i-v-e. Earrings are even more so since it takes double the diamonds! Saddened, but not defeated, I’ve been looking into alternative places to buy diamonds. Namely I’ve been searching online diamond stores and jewelry marts, which seem to have drastically discounted diamonds that are just as beautiful. While I haven’t found that perfect pair yet, I think I’m on the right track. I’ll keep you posted with any finds, but in the meantime I’d love any good suggestions on where to look! 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Loves It, Uncategorized, Wedding Planning

One response to “Diamonds are a Girl’s Best Friend

Leave a Reply

