Living Vicariously Through Words

berry-wreath-on-door-compressed1

Exhibit A: My crafty attempt (made from scratch!) to divert attention from the ugly color of our door.

Christmas is just around the corner, and I am frighteningly ill-prepared. This being our first official Christmas as a married couple, visions of hot cocoa, eggnog and Christmas tree decorating danced in my head. The visions first danced two months ago, but sadly they have yet to come to fruition. The best I have to show for my delusions of grandeur is a berry wreath on our front door. However, this was more out of necessity than mirth, since our front door is painted the most hideous shade of puke-orange-brown-peach and needed something to dress up its fugliness.

The worst part of all this is that I was SO excited for Christmas this year. I started writing holiday content for Celebrations months ago, which jump-started my holiday spirit.  It looks like I’m going to have to live vicariously through my articles this year, but the good news is if you are also a holiday slacker, you can too. Or, if you’re feeling overly ambitious and want to throw a fabulous party, the articles will be useful as well as entertaining (my personal faves are the New Year’s party articles):

Nature-Inspired Christmas Tree Decorations

Mad Men Themed Holiday Party (best show ever)

Delicious Hanukkah Recipes

Lovely DIY Christmas Wreaths (see pic above)

New Year’s Eve Party on a Budget (a fab fete for under $100)

Top 5 Places to Celebrate New Year’s Eve

Host a New Year’s Brunch (lots of deee-licious recipes to try…mmmm)

I hope you find some useful ideas in the above articles. While I’m okay with living vicariously through the written word, I hope someone will enjoy executing my ideas this holiday season. 🙂 For me, there is always next year.

Leave a comment

Filed under 20something Musings, Style Files

Leave a Reply

