The Jaws of Defeat

Ras Flat blue…Or should I say, da feet.  It all started about a week ago when I was perusing Endless to help a friend locate the perfect wedding shoe.  It’s no secret that I’m in love with shoes and I’ll take any excuse to shop my little heart out, so I was more than happy to help locate the brightly hued bridal pump of her dreams. In the end she settled for a gorgeous white shoe I found that will be dyed to match her wedding colors, but in the midst of my perusal I also came across these – and stopped dead in my tracks.

The shopaholic within me cried out and clapped her hands in glee – the perfect flat! So vibrant, so rich, so feminine; daintily demure yet somehow still sexy. And…. what’s this I see? GASP! They’re. ON. SALE.  No joke, I had to fan myself to avoid hyperventilation on the spot. I’d been keeping my eyes peeled for the perfect colorful blue satin shoe for months now, and here it was, right in front of me. Just when I thought victory was mine, something tragic happened. As I clicked on my size to put these pretties in my shopping basket the lovely blue color disappeared from the webpage. Apparently the only color left in my size was brown.

My heart sank, but I was still hopeful – many sites sell RAS brand shoes, I reasoned, and I would definitely be able to find another pair. And then I did – on eBay of all places, going for only $15 brand new, never worn, in my size, in the gorgeous blue color. Hallelujah, I was saved.   I bid on them and waited eagerly until the auction’s end, this past Saturday, so I could place a last minute bid in case anyone dared try to rip them from my grasp.  It was a great plan, save for the fact that I forgot my parents and inlaws were descending upon us to visit for the weekend. My error in planning was my fatal flaw, and the shoes went to another bidder while I joked jovially and snacked on gourmet sandwiches with the fam.

Mike can’t understand why I’m still lamenting the loss of these flats every time we leave the house (I’m reminded of them when I have to put on my shoes, ha), but I can’t forget the taste of near victory that was snatched away so suddenly. I even tried looking up where RAS is sold in stores, only to find that a trip to the Bon Marche in Paris was my only option. And in that case, I’d have better luck trying to bribe someone who already owns them to give them up.

So that, my friends, is the story of my latest shopping FAIL. The moral of this sad tale? eBay, for all its virtues, can also be a cruel, sadistic mistress, snatching away the one you love and mocking you with one last jab when you’re already down –  “You Were Outbid.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Is It Just Me, Loves It, Shop Til I Drop

Leave a Reply

